A Salty-Sweet & Crunchy Treat

When I first started pumpercake, I was overwhelmed by the immense amount of support from friends and family regarding the blog and my baking.  One of the most, if not THE most enthusiastic of those supporters is my mom.  Along with her loving support and pride in my new project, she also offered me a little suggestion for a dessert to try out… some sort of chocolate covered potato chips, inspired by the popular Neiman Marcus chips that she and I used to indulge in a little while back.  Although I thought her idea was great, I’ve been focusing so much on more extravagant and difficult recipes to challenge myself with (like those silly macarons) that I guess it just slipped my mind.  But, when it came time to think up a special something to make her for Mother’s Day, this simple and scrumptious salty-sweet treat was an obvious choice.

To make this quick and easy snack a little more special, I used blend of a few different types of rich chocolate that I knew she’d like and also added a little decorative chocolate drizzle and a sprinkle of coarse salt.  I decided that Pringles would be the potato chip of choice, mainly due to the shape of the chips and the container and the fact that I knew it would make for a super cute presentation.

Happy (early) Mother’s Day to all those wonderful moms out there!  I hope my ‘Mama Lew’ loves her little stack of treats and hope she knows how much I love her.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Inspired by: “Chocolate-Covered Potato Chips”  –Neiman Marcus

There are no rules when it comes to the types of chocolate to be used for these.  I used the list below to make different blends and layers of flavor, but adapt the quantities and cacao content percentages to fit your taste.  If you plan on drizzling chocolate onto a covered chip, try using a sweeter chocolate paired with a less sweet type, using one as a base and one as a drizzle.

¾ cup chopped dark chocolate       ½ cup semisweet chocolate chips

1 cup white chocolate chips            ½ cup chopped bittersweet chocolate

about half a container of Pringles   kosher salt (coarse) for sprinkling

Prepare a double boiler fitted with a large glass bowl filled with the chopped dark and semisweet chocolate.  Remove the bowl of almost completely melted chocolate from the double boiler and stir to melt completely.  One at a time, coat half of the potato chips  with the melted chocolate by gently holding each chip with a pair of tongs, dipping the chip in the bowl, and spreading the chocolate with a spatula to evenly coat.  Place each covered chip onto parchment paper, sprinkle with coarse salt, and allow to cool completely.  Repeat this process with ¾ cup of the white chocolate (there will be less white chocolate coated potato chips than dark).

When the chocolate coated chips have been salted and completely cooled, melt the bittersweet chocolate and the remaining white chocolate in separate double boilers to be drizzled.  Drizzle the melted chocolate using whatever your preferred drizzling method is, mine being a pastry or zip-lock bag filled with the melted chocolate with the corner of the bag snipped.  Allow drizzled potato chips to cool (at room temperature or in the refrigerator) before stacking in between tiny squares of parchment paper and stacked back into their original tall container.  Store in the refrigerator to keep chocolate from melting partially onto other chips.

One Comment to “A Salty-Sweet & Crunchy Treat”

  1. Ohhhh Boooooy! Can’t wait to taste my Chocolate Covered treat! XOXO

Leave a Reply

